Diversity and Inclusion Committee

ABC's Diversity and Inclusion Committee is an active one. Its members are dedicated to recognizing the broad spectrum of D&I teaching and practice that ABC and its members are doing. They are also passionate about encouraging and inspiring ABC and its members to do even more - to integrate D&I into all that they do. 

To this end, the D&I Committee has implemented a number of initiatives. Two of the more notable are the "How Do You Teach Diversity?" lightning roundtables that take place at our annual international conference and the "Distinction in the Practice of Diversity and Inclusion" award. 

The D&I lightning roundtables kicked off in 2015 and have grown steadily ever since. Participants have three minutes each to share a D&I best practice or favorite assignment. The sessions are fast-paced, inspiring and amazing. People leave filled with ideas and energy.

The Distinction in the Practice of Diversity and Inclusion Award was launched in 2016. It honors work outside the classroom, engaging a community that would be deemed non-dominant. This is work that creates partnerships to effect positive social change, whether the change is on an individualized level or on a broader, system-wide, policy level - or a synergistic blend. 


  1. Continue the panel discussion/teaching roundtable on diversity and inclusion issues for the 2018 annual conference.
  2. Work to help ABC leaders and members understand, expand, articulate, apply, analyze, synthesize, and evaluate our ideas and efforts -- individually, as teachers and practitioners, and as an organization -- related to diversity and inclusion.
  3. Solicit nominations, review applications and choose a winner for the Distinction in the Practice of Diversity and Inclusion Award.
  4. Contribute to the ABC Newsletter through a column about “Best Practices for Diversity and Inclusion.”
  5. Create a student “Diversity and Inclusion Student Contest” proposal for Board approval.
  6. Recommend new charges for the following year.
  7. Post September 1 annual report on your community forum site and email copy to First Vice President.

We have lots more ideas that we plan to implement. But we're always looking for more thoughts and suggestions for how we can better serve ABC and its members while helping them be their best. We're also always looking for more members to join us. 

If you have questions, ideas, suggestions, or would like to learn more about us and our work, please contact our committee chair.

Community Page

The Community Page for this committee is for members and links to the committee's forums and file library.

Committee Members 2018

Name End of 3-Year Term (Renewable)
Aida Andino-Pratts 12/31/2019
Jim Archibald 12/31/2020
Clark Barwick 12/31/2018
W. Christopher Brown 12/31/2019
Kathryn Canas 12/31/2020
Lance Cummings 12/31/2018
Barbara Davis 12/31/2020
Denise Driscoll 12/31/2018 
Cole Holmes 12/31/2018
Christina Iluzada 12/31/2019
Jacquelyn Lowman, Chair 12/31/2019
Victoria McCrady 12/31/2019
Amber Meyers 12/31/2018
Clive Muir 12/31/2020
Anita Pandey 12/31/2019
Sabrina Pasztor 12/31/2019
Evelyn Plummer 12/31/2018
Peggy Odom-Reed 12/31/2020
Sandra Sepúlveda 12/31/2020