ABC Representative Travel Award

This award is no longer offered.


The ABC Representative Travel Award is intended to help newer ABC members build their careers while also promoting ABC at non-ABC conferences. It provides an opportunity for our ABC Representatives to participate in conferences they might not otherwise attend.

Eligibility Criteria (please address in your application letter)

The criteria for ABC members eligible for the ABC Representative Travel Award include:

  1. Membership in ABC for approximately five to eight years.
    Evidence of contributions to ABC through committee work or other service.
  2. Evidence that the person is considered an "up and coming" researcher or teacher.
  3. Relevance of the conference to ABC’s goals, at a conference the nominee does not usually attend (e.g., due to funding limitations).
  4. Publications in an area of research relevant to the conference to be attended.
  5. Description of the ways in which the person would represent or promote ABC; this must include participation in the conference program.


The award winner is chosen by the Executive Committee based on self-nominations or nominations from any Board member or committee chair. The approval of the conference is at the discretion of the Executive Committee, subject to ABC's needs and potential benefits to ABC and the award recipient's demonstrated research interests.

One ABC Representative Travel Award of $1,000-1,500 per year may be awarded.

The awardee must acknowledge ABC’s sponsorship during the conference and in any resulting publications.

Winners of the ABC Representative Travel Award

 This award was renamed from the Ambassador Award in 2022.

  • 2021: Clark Barwick, Indiana University
  • 2019: Jacquelyn Lowman, University of Maine at Presque Isle
  • 2017: No award
  • 2016: Kristen Lucas, University of Louisville
  • 2015: Rudi Palmieri, University of Liverpool