2020 ABC Award Winners

View the Presentation Here

Margaret Baker Graham Research Grant

Sponsored by the C.R. Anderson Foundation

Nupoor Ranade, North Carolina State University
Re-Contextualizing Audiences in User Generated Content Publication Spaces

Member Awards

ABC Rising Star Award

Sponsored by SAGE Publications

Susan Schanne, Eastern Michigan University

Distinguished Member

Sponsored by ABC

Janis Forman, University of California, Los Angeles

Fellow of the Association

Sponsored by ABC

Geert Jacobs, Ghent University
Charles Kostelnik, Iowa State University
Priscilla Rogers, University of Michigan

Bernadine P. Branchaw Spirit of ABC Award

Sponsored by ABC

Jacquelyn Lowman, University of Maine at Presque Isle

Honorary Member Award

Sponsored by ABC

Marilyn Buerkens

Meada Gibbs Outstanding Teacher-Scholar Award

Sponsored by ABC

Paula Lentz, University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire

Kitty O. Locker Outstanding Researcher Award

Sponsored by McGraw-Hill Higher Education and ABC

Kirk St.Amant, Louisiana Tech University

Francis W. Weeks Award of Merit

Sponsored by ABC

David Victor, Eastern Michigan University

Award for Excellence in Communication Consulting

Sponsored by Association of Professional Communication Consultants (APCC) and ABC

Theomary Karamanis, Cornell University
Train-the-trainer Risk and Crisis Communication Workshop for the Caribbean Public Health Agency

Distinction in the Practice of Diversity and Inclusion Award

Sponsored by Peter Cardon

Larissa Ramos, University of Miami

Innovation in Teaching with Technology Award

Carolin Fleishmann, University of Southern California
VBP Project

Case Writer Award

Sponsored by Jim Dubinsky

Thomas Stoffer, Ferris State University

Publication Awards

Distinguished Book on Business Communication

Sponsored by ABC

Bruce Maylath, North Dakota State University
Kirk St.Amant, Louisiana Tech University
Translation and Localization: A Guide for Technical and Professional Communicators

Outstanding Article of the Year BPCQ

Sponsored by Mary Ellen Guffey and Dana Lowey

Janel Bloch, Northern Kentucky University
Jeremy Rosselot-Merritt, University of Minnesota
Mentoring in business and professional communication: Case study of a multiyear dynamic

Outstanding Article of the Year IJBC

Sponsored by Kathy Rentz and Paula Lentz

Cen April Yue, Linjuan Rita Men, and Mary Ann Ferguson, University of Florida
Examining the effects of internal communication and emotional culture on employees’ organizational identification

Outstanding Article on Business Communication in Non-ABC Journal

Sponsored by ABC

Augustine Pang, P. Le, H. Teo, Y. Li, and C. Goh, Singapore Management University
When is silence golden? The use of strategic silence in crisis communication

Outstanding Dissertation Award

Sponsored by Special Friend of ABC

Doreen Hanke, McNeese State University
Can employees motivate themselves? The link between peer motivating language and employee outcomes

Business Communication Impact Award

Sponsored by Marshall School of Business, University of Southern California

Anna Kankaanranta, Aalto University
Brigitte Planken, Radboud University
BELF Competence as Business Knowledge of Internationally Operating Business Professionals
Published in the Journal of Business Communication

Student Awards

Outstanding Student Writer

Sponsored by Barbara Shwom

    • 1st place: John Boyar, University of South Carolina
    • 2nd place: Taylor Wildman, Sam Houston State University
    • 3rd place: Kendall Salas, University of Southern California