Distinction in the Practice of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award


The Award for Distinction in the Practice of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion celebrates and recognizes practices fostering community outreach and diversity, equity and inclusion. It honors work outside the classroom, engaging a community that would be deemed non-dominant. This is work that creates partnerships to effect positive social change, whether the change be on an individualized level or on a broader, system-wide, policy level--or a synergistic blend.

The recipient is recognized during the annual conference with a plaque and a monetary award. The award is sponsored by ABC member Peter D. Cardon.

Eligibility Criteria

The achievements that this award will honor should involve service learning, community service, engaged learning, or some other type of activity that promotes social awareness and the spirit of inclusion. There are many possible constituencies who could be involved in these types of contributions: students in a class or directed study, students in clubs or participating in co-curricular activities, university faculty and administrators involved in curriculum change, consultants who broaden clients' perspectives, or employees coming together to benefit others outside the typical constraints of their jobs.

The work or project should demonstrate the core values of partnership. The participants should learn about and benefit one another. There should be a continual analysis, evaluation, and feedback loop during the partnership, which can be a fixed or ongoing collaboration.

The award purposely takes a broad interpretation of "diversity and inclusion" and service. The committee is open to a wide variety of activities that match the award criteria. The committee will also be happy to give applicants guidance and feedback as they prepare their proposals.


The award is open to any ABC member. People can be nominated or self-nominate.

To be considered, submit a project description (no more than 1000 words) that includes the non-dominant community served, the type of partnership created, any of the many possible types of applied learning involved, the change effected, some of the issues learned, and any plans for moving forward.

Submit completed application here by June 10, with names and email addresses of dean, department chair, or other press release contact, along with a photograph. Contact the chair of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee if you need assistance or if you use a screen reader.

Evaluation Procedures

The award will be judged by a panel with diversity and inclusion expertise. 

Preparing for Following Year's Conference

The recipient will present a paper at the following year’s conference and should submit the paper during the submission period, marking the selection "ABC award."


The award winner will be notified approximately 90 days before the annual conference.

Winners of the Distinction in the Practice of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award

2023: Stephanie Smith, Virginia Tech
2022: Kathy Fisher, Indiana University (tie)
2022: Huatong Sun, University of Washington Tacoma (tie)
2021: Sushil Oswal, University of Washington and Zsuzsanna Palmer, Grand Valley State University
2020: Larissa Ramos, University of Miami
2019: Clive Muir, ThinkCraftSolve
2018: Junhua Wang, University of Minnesota Duluth
2017: Robyn Albers, Zayed University
2016: Anita Pandey, Morgan State University