2023 Award Winners

Margaret Baker Graham Research Grant

Sponsored by the Business Communication Research Foundation

Emily Hamlin, University of Connecticut

Employees' Motivations for Enrolling in Communication
Training Programs in Large-scale Organizations

Member Awards

ABC Rising Star Award

Sponsored by SAGE Publications

Ursula Lutzky, Vienna University of Economics and Business

Fellow of the Association

Sponsored by ABC

Amy Newman, Cornell University

Bernadine P. Branchaw Spirit of ABC Award

Sponsored by ABC

 Virginia Hemby, Middle Tennessee State University
 Priscilla Rogers, University of Michigan (posthumous)

Distinguished Member

        Ron Dulek, University of Alabama
        Marcel Robles, Eastern Kentucky University

Meada Gibbs Outstanding Teacher-Scholar Award

Sponsored by ABC

Patricia Harms, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Kitty O. Locker Outstanding Researcher Award

Sponsored by McGraw-Hill Higher Education and ABC

Ursula Lutzky, Vienna University of Economics and Business

Distinction in the Practice of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award

Sponsored by Peter Cardon

Stephanie Smith, Virginia Tech, "Public Relations Campaigns"

Innovation in Teaching with Technology Award

Sponsored by Amy Newman

Lance Cummings, University of North Carolina Wilmington

Publication Award

Outstanding Article in Business and Professional Communication Quarterly

Sponsored by Mary Ellen Guffey and Dana Lowey

Kristen Getchell, Babson College; Stephen Carradini, Arizona State University; Peter Cardon, University of Southern California; Carolin Fleischmann, TH Rosenheim; Haibing Ma, DeepBlue Technology; Jolanta Aritz, University of Southern California; James Stapp, Cornell University

Getchell, K., Carradini, S., Cardon, P., Fleischmann, C., Ma, H. Artiz, J. & Stapp, J. (2022). Artificial Intelligence in Business Communication: The Changing Landscape of Research and Teaching. Business and Professional Communication Quarterly, 1 - 27. DOI: 10.1177/23294906221074311.

Outstanding Article in International Journal of Business Communication

Sponsored by Kathy Rentz, Paula Lentz and Kristen Getchell

Augustine Pang, Singapore Management University; Yan Jin, University of Georgia; Youngi Seo, Syracuse University; Sung In Choi, University of Georgia; Hui-Xun Teo; La Duke Phuong; and Bryan Reber, University of Georgia

Pang, A., Jin, Y., Seo, Y., Choi, S, Teo, H., L, Phuong., & Reber, B. (2022). Breaking the sound of silence: Explication in the use of strategic silence in crisis communication. International Journal of Business Communication, 59 (2), 219 - 241. DOI: 10.1177/23294884211046357.

Distinguished Publication on Business Communication

Sponsored by ABC

Janis Forman, University of California Los Angeles

Forman, J. (2022). The Business Communication Profession: Essays on the Journeys of Leading Teacher-Scholars.

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

Sponsored by Special Friend of ABC

Bianca Dijkstra
University of Groningen

Multilingual Communication Strategies in the Workplace: An Ethnographic Study of Practices and Ideologies in Logistics

Business Communication Impact Award

Sponsored by Marshall School of Business, University of Southern California

Jacqueline Mayfield, Texas A&M International University; Milton Mayfield, Texas A&M International University and William Sharbrough III, The Citadel

Mayfield, J., Mayfield, M., & Sharbrough, W. C. (2015). Strategic Vision and Values in Top Leaders’ Communications: Motivating Language at a Higher Level. International Journal of Business Communication, 52(1), 97–121. https://doi.org/10.1177/2329488414560282

Student Awards

Outstanding Student Writer

Sponsored by Barbara Shwom

    • 1st place:  Tolu Adetola, University of Pennsylvania; faculty sponsor Chris Morse
    • 2nd place: Summer Sledzieski, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; faculty sponsor Michael Meredith
    • 3rd place: Angela Ge, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; faculty sponsor Jenna Haugen

Student Case Writer

Cynthia Conn and Randle Raggio, University of Richmond

Student Travel Awards

Sponsored by ABC and Sustaining Members

Alex Bridgemohan, University of Connecticut
Gail Flanagan, University of Limerick
Sofia Osorio Pretell, Universidad del Norte