History of ABC: Headquarters

ABC headquarters moved from Illinois to Texas to New York, as Executive Directors changed. The chair of the organizing committee, C. R. Anderson of the University of Illinois at Urbana, became ABC's first Executive Director, serving until December 1956. Francis W. Weeks, who had begun teaching business writing at Illinois in 1939, took over as Executive Director in January 1957 and served until his retirement in 1984. A full search named another Illinois professor as Executive Director: Robert D. Gieselman, who served from 1984-90. At his retirement, ABC left Illinois and began to turn to former Association presidents for its Executive Directors. From 1990-94, John D. Pettit, Jr., then of the University of North Texas, served as Executive Director. In 1994, ABC moved to Baruch College, CUNY, with Robert J. Myers as Executive Director.

Executive Directors

James M. "Jim" Dubinsky, Virginia Tech, 2011-present

Betty S. Johnson, Stephen F. Austin State University, 2006-2011

Robert J. "Bob" Myers, Baruch College, City University of New York, 1995-2006

John D. Pettit, University of North Texas,  1990-1994

Robert D. "Bob" Gieselman, University of Illinois, 1984-1990

Francis W. Weeks, University of Illinois, 1957-1984

Chester R. "Chesty" Anderson, University of Illinois, 1935-1957