INSIDE THIS ISSUE

- Annual Conference 2017
- Awards 2017
- Plenaries from 2016 Award Winners
- Member Spotlight



Fostering Excellence in Business Communication
The Association for Business Communication (ABC) Newsletter

Annual Conference 2017

This is a special issue devoted to the ABC annual conference held in October at Dun Laoghaire, Ireland. The winter issue of the newsletter will be released in January. Below are some memories and news from the conference. Many more photos can be seen in the photo album at the ABC Facebook page.

I wish you all an enjoyable holiday season and a wonderful year ahead!

Sky Marsen News Editor



Dun Laoghaire, Ireland



Royal Marine Hotel



People's Park, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland



Executive Committee Members: Bertha Du-Babcock, Debby Roebuck, Jim Dubinsky, Lisa Gueldenzoph Snyder, Marcel Robles



Clockwise from the top: Jane Johansen, Barbara Shwom, Karl Keller, Debby Roebuck, Marsha Bayless, Debbie DuFrene, Tim DuFrene, Roger Conaway, Phyllis Conaway, Sana Reynolds - at the National Maritime Museum of Ireland



Our President for this year, Debby Roebuck, and our Manager, Marilyn Buerkens, whose hard work made this splendid event happen



Sky Marsen, Alfredo Deambrosi and Richard Babcock



Gail Cruse and Jean Bush-Bacelis, our conference organizers



Graduate students Charlotte Moyersoen and Roxanna Deleersnyder of Ghent University, Belgium participated in a Lightning Roundtable about Multilingualism in Professional Communication in Europe



An occasion to learn...



...and to interact

Awards 2017

We congratulate our award members!

Karin Goettsch, University of Minnesota - Award for Excellence in Communication Consulting



Karin Goettsch with Debby Roebuck, Barbara Shwom and Sana Reynolds

Robyn Albers, Zayed University - Distinction in the Practice of Diversity and Inclusion Award



Robyn Albers with Debby Roebuck and Pete Cardon

Richard O. Young, Carnegie Mellon University - Distinguished Publication on Business Communication for his paper, "Persuasive Communication: How Audiences Decide"



Richard Young

Valerie Creelman, Saint Mary's University - Rising Star Award



Valerie Creelman

Alexander Laskin, Quinnipiac University- Outstanding Article of the Year in the *International Journal of Business Communication* for his paper "Non-financial Information in Investor Communications"

Catherine Nickerson, Chrysi Rapanta, & Valerie Goby, Zayed University - Outstanding Article of the Year in *Business and Professional Communication Quarterly* for their paper "Mobile or Not? Assessing the Instructional Value of Mobile Learning"

Kathryn Ann Meier, University of Delaware - Outstanding Dissertation Award for her study "Deconstructing DuPont Discourse: How Storytelling Shaped the Identity and Reputation of an American Enterprise"

Priscilla S. Rogers, University of Michigan - Meada Gibbs Outstanding Teacher-Scholar Award



Priscilla Rogers

Peter D. Cardon, University of Southern California - Kitty O. Locker Outstanding Researcher Award

Clive Muir, Stephen F. Austin State University - Pearson Award for Innovation in Teaching with Technology



Clive Muir receiving the award from Debby Roebuck

Dwane H. Dean, Frostburg State University - Business Communication Impact Award for his 2004 BCQ article "Consumer Reaction to Negative Publicity: Effects of Corporate Reputation, Response, and Responsibility for a Crisis Event"

Paula Lentz, University of Wisconsin - Francis W. Weeks Award of Merit



Paula Lentz receiving the award from Debby Roebuck

Gail Cruise, University of Massachusetts Amherst - Bernadine P. Branchaw Spirit of ABC Award



Gail Cruise receiving the award from Debby Roebuck

Robyn Walker, University of Southern California - Distinguished Member Award



Robyn Walker receiving the award from Debby Roebuck

Deborah Britt Roebuck, Kennesaw State University - Fellow of the Association



Debby Roebuck with Jim Dubinsky

Sara Doan, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee - Margaret (Marty) Baker Graham Research Grant

Ruby Nancy, East Carolina University - Margaret (Marty) Baker Graham Research Grant

Student Awards

Roshni Verma, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill - Outstanding Student Writer - First Place

Sponsored by Michael Meredith, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Kylan Rutherford, Brigham Young University - Outstanding Student Writer - Second Place

Sponsored by Marianna Richardson, Brigham Young University

Tyler Tonnesen, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill - Outstanding Student Writer - Third Place

Sponsored by Michael Meredith, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Andy Spackman, Brigham Young University - Student Case Writer

Plenaries from 2016 Award Winners

The conference was also an occasion for last year's award winners to present their work. **Katherine Castle**, winner of the Pearson award for Innovation in Teaching with Technology, described her project on creating an online course from a face to face version; **Augustine Pang**, winner of the Outstanding Researcher Award, discussed his research on crisis communication; **Anita Pandey**, winner in Practice of Diversity and Inclusion Award, explained her project on politeness and cultural competency; and **Carolyn Boccella Bagin**, winner of the Award for Excellence in Communication Consulting, talked about her work on using plain English in bankruptcy documents.



Katherine Castle



Augustine Pang



Anita Pandey



Carolyn Boccella Bagin

Member Spotlight

Kathryn Meier, Award for Outstanding Dissertation



Kathryn Meier

The DuPont Company's "Better Things for Better Living Through Chemistry" is one of the longest running institutional advertising campaigns in business history. In her doctoral dissertation, Kathryn positioned this campaign as the most complex, comprehensive storytelling effort in DuPont history and analyzed narratives told over its 64-year run.

Her archival research involved examining a few hundred issues of the *DuPont Magazine*, a publication first produced by the company in 1913 that ran through the early 2000s. She is now working on two articles for publication from here research. She aims to submit "Investigating Interdisciplinarity in Storytelling: A Framework for Future Study" to the *International Journal of Business Communication*, and "Storytelling Science: Communicating the Business of DuPont" to the *Business and Professional Communication Quarterly*.

To current and future PhD students she says: "follow your passion, surround yourself with support, and never give up. My passion is

storytelling, and for much of my life I thought about this as a personal interest inherited from my grandmothers, but organically through the course of my studies, I found a way to turn it into a relevant, human research topic translatable to a broader audience."

Peter Cardon, Award for Outstanding Researcher



Peter Cardon receiving the award from Debby Roebuck and McGraw Hill representatives Anke Weekes and Michael Gedatus

Peter Cardon researches computer-mediated communication (including virtual team communication, enterprise social networks, mobile technologies, and leadership communication on digital platforms), intercultural communication (with a focus on Chinese-American intercultural communication), and diversity and inclusion. He prefers a mixed (quantitative plus qualitative) approach to research.

He believes that future research about business communication should be and will be guided much more by applied research, focus even more on the pervasive direct and indirect influence of technology on communication, and rely on innovative and team-based research approaches. He views ABC scholars as uniquely positioned to make major contributions in these ways.

Peter will be organizing a research workshop at the next annual conference in Miami.