Research Committee

Promotes research and scholarship in business communication. Aims to enhance and promote research, within the discipline and beyond, by providing a center for networking and collaboration. The Committee advises the Board on the Outstanding Researcher and Outstanding Dissertation Awards.


  1. Recommend the Outstanding Research Award recipient.
  2. Recommend the Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation in Business Communication Award recipient.
  3. Submit a competitive panel, poster, or workshop to the annual conference.
  4. Serve as an important resource for the Association on research issues.
  5. Invite former winners of the Outstanding Researcher Award (ORA) and Outstanding Dissertation Award (ODA) to the committee to ensure a robust pool.
  6. Invite former editors or associate editors for the IJBC as committee members.
  7. Work with the Technology Coordinator to determine how best to feature research resources on the website (and in this way encourage the citation of business communication scholarship in members’ research).
  8. Work with the Graduate Studies Committee and Academic Environment Ad Hoc Committee to assess the status of business communication as an academic discipline and foster the perception of business communication as a discipline with a strong research base.
  9. Recommend new charges for the following year.
  10. Post September 1 annual report on your community forum site and email copy to First VIce President.

Community Page

The Community Page for this committee is for members and links to the committee's forum and file library.

Committee Members 2019

Name End of 3-Year Term (Renewable)
Kim Sydow Campbell 12/31/2020
Suwichit (Sean) Chaidaroon 12/31/2019
Valerie Creelman 12/31/2020
Sofie Decock 12/31/2019
Bertha Du-Babcock 12/31/2019
Ronald Dulek 12/31/2019
Ryan Fuller 12/31/2020
Yan Jin 12/31/2019
Minna Logemann 12/31/2020
Sky Marsen, Chair 12/31/2020
Michael Meredith 12/31/2020
Clive Muir 12/31/2021
Brigitte Planken 12/31/2020
Jacob D. Rawlins 12/31/2020
Matthew R. Sharp 12/31/2020
Emil Towner 12/31/2019
Camilla Vasquez 12/31/2020
Natalie Wilmot 12/31/2019

Prior Chairs

Daphne Jameson, Cornell University