Innovation in Teaching with Technology Award

Replaced this page with as URL was showing "Pearson".

This award will be offered in 2020.   


The Innovation in Teaching with Technology Award recognizes innovative uses of technology to enhance learning and engagement in business communication classrooms.

Amy Newman sponsors the award and will present the winner at the annual ABC international conference.

Eligibility Criteria

The award is chosen by the Teaching Committee. Candidates for this award must meet the following criteria:

  1. Teach business communication at the community college or college level.
  2. Demonstrate successful integration of new technologies in the business communication classroom (e.g., increases student engagement with technology, uses of social media, ways to improve student learning using the flipped classroom strategies, and similar topics.).
  3. Demonstrate teaching excellence, using student evaluations, peer observations, and a support letter from department chair/other administrators as evidence.

Applicants are ineligible if they are

  • Members of the ABC Teaching Committee
  • Prior award winners
  • Current or past ABC officers or directors


Nominations may be made by any member of the Association. The award recipient is selected by the Teaching Committee.

Applicants do not have to be ABC members, but we encourage all members to consider this wonderful opportunity.

Nomination letters, either by post or email attachment, are due to the Teaching Committee award subcommittee chair by June 30. Completed application packets are due by July 6.

Application Packets

The application packet is due to the chair of the Teaching Committee's award subcommittee chair by July 5. It should be a portfolio (either PDF or electronic—online) and include the following:

  • CV
  • Examples of syllabi/Web materials that reflect innovative practices focusing on digital technologies
  • Statement by nominee detailing innovative techniques and teaching philosophy
  • Professional development/contributions related to pedagogy and technology
  • Support letters from students, peers, administrators

If submitting a PDF portfolio, the page limit is 30 pages; an ePortfolio is a viable option. If the applicant chooses the ePortfolio option, the cover letter/statement must include both the URL and clear directions about which portions of the ePortfolio to focus on (to maintain a page/screen limit equivalent to the PDF version).

The Teaching Committee's  award subcommittee chair will acknowledge receipt of the nomination via email to the nominator and nominee.

Evaluation and Notification Process

The Teaching Committee members will independently review the credentials of each nominee and determine a winner.  The winner will be notified by July 31. The subcommittee chair will notify ABC Headquarters by August 28. 

Award Subcommittee Chair

Lydia Musher, Rice University,

Innovation in Teaching with Technology

  • 2019: Award not given; award formerly named Pearson Award for Innovation in Teaching with Technology.
  • 2018: Award not given
  • 2017: Clive Muir, Stephen F. Austin State University
  • 2016: Katherine Castle, University of Nebraska - Lincoln
  • 2015: Alisa Agozzino, Ohio Northern University
  • 2014: Abram Anders, University of Minnesota Duluth