Outstanding Article in International Journal of Business Communication


The award for Outstanding Article in the International Journal of Business Communication is awarded annually to an article that meets the criteria described below. The award recipient(s) receives a plaque, a one-year full membership in the Association, and a monetary award of $500 USD contributed by Board-approved sponsor(s). By existing agreement, the Association for Business Communication permits the sponsors to publicize the names of the awardees in advertising.

The award is sponsored by textbook authors Kathy Rentz and Paula Lentz.

Eligibility Criteria

Eligible articles must meet the following criteria:

  1. Contributes significantly to scholarship, research, and/or pedagogy.
  2. Demonstrates originality of thought and careful investigation.
  3. Is well-written, lucid, and engaging.
  4. Is published in hard copy or OnlineFirst in the International Journal of Business Communication in the calendar year preceding the annual conference at which the award is presented.

Authors are not eligible to receive this award two years in a row.  Publications may not be nominated more than once.

Nomination Procedures

Nominations may be made by the author(s) or members at large. A call for Nominations is sent to the members of ABC to make recommendations. The ABC Publication Board selects the recipient of the award.

Submit your nominations to the Publication Board Chair (contact information below). Please include complete publication information and a one-or-two paragraph rationale for the nomination in an email message to the Publication Board chair. The ABC Publication Board selects the recipient of the awards. Nomination letters must be received by the ABC Publication Board chair by July 8.

Publication Board Chair: Jason Snyder
Professor of Marketing
Central Connecticut State University


The award winner will be notified approximately 90 days before the annual conference.

If the review committee finds no article worthy of the award in a given year, no award will be

Previous Winners