International Issues Committee

Identifies issues and suggests solutions relating to the internationalization of ABC.


  1. Discuss and identify issues relating to the internationalization of ABC.
  2. Suggest opportunities for ABC to connect with business communication organizations in various countries or regions.
  3. Select specific issues for the attention of the ABC membership and organize appropriate sessions for ABC conferences during the year.
  4. Encourage local interest in attending regional conferences outside of the United States.
  5. Conduct research regarding how to assist members who seek international audiences to research.
  6. Develop and maintain online archive of ABC internationally-related activities and highlights of international members’ achievements and awards.
  7. Assist the IJBC editor and editorial board as needed.
  8. Submit a competitive panel, poster, or workshop on collaborative teaching and/or research across countries to the annual conference. Utilize the ABC website to promote this kind of collaboration.
  9. Recommend liaisons for each country to promote ABC.  Additionally, continue to work with Chinese delegation to enhance international collaboration with ABC.
  10. Explore developing student organizations in different countries and universities.
  11. Recommend new charges for the following year.
  12. Request committee members additions/drops by first logging into ABC and then completing the quick Committee Update Request form at:
  13. Post September 1 annual report on your community forum site and email copy to First VIce President.

Community Page

The Community Page for this committee is for members and links to the committee's forum and file library.

Committee Members 2020

Name End of 3-Year Term (Renewable)
Judith Ainsworth 12/31/2021
Tatiana Batova 12/31/2020
Tom Bruyer 12/31/2021
Anthony Chan 12/31/2022
Kathleen Corrales 12/31/2022
Julia Deems 12/31/2023
Bertha Du-Babcock 12/31/2022
Karin Goettsch 12/31/2020
Hiromitsu Hayashida, Co-chair 12/31/2022
Sheila Hostetler 12/31/2022
Kevin Jones 12/31/2020
Kimberly Jordon 12/31/2022
Christopher Leeds 12/31/2022
Carroll Nardone 12/31/2022
Augustine Pang 12/31/2020
Kevin Sager 12/31/2020
Margaret Smallwood 12/31/2020
H. Leland Smith 12/31/2020
Iris Varner 12/31/2022
David Victor 12/31/2022
Katherine Wills, Co-chair 12/31/2022

Past Co-chairs

Bertha Du-Babcock - City University of Hong Kong
Maryann Wysor - George State University