Margaret (Marty) Baker Graham Research Grant

Endowed by the Family and Friends of Margaret Baker Graham


During her career in higher education, Dr. Marty Graham (Iowa State University) worked diligently to support the advancement of graduate students, particularly female, non-­traditional students. Because of her dedication to these students and her understanding of the economic difficulties all graduate students face, her family and friends have endowed the Margaret (Marty) Baker Graham Research Grant. This award will assist doctoral students engaged in research within the discipline of business communication. Distributed through the C. R. Anderson Foundation, the $500 award will be presented at the Annual International Conference of the Association for Business Communication.


Any student engaged in collecting data and writing a dissertation in the business communication discipline will be eligible for this award. Preference will be given to those individuals who demonstrate a need for financial support during the late stages of their doctoral programs.


Applicants must be enrolled in a doctoral program pursuing a degree within a business communication related discipline.

Applications due by 11:59 pm EDT, June 15.

The committee encourages self nominations, nominations by supervising professors, and/or members of the Association for Business Communication. Students who wish to apply should submit an application to the Graduate Studies Committee chair of the Graduate Studies Committee chair and the ABC Executive Director by visiting here (link pending) where you will upload the following documents:

  • Letter of application indicating need for research funds
  • Current vita
  • Description of research project indicating progress achieved toward completion (limit to two pages, single-­-spaced)


The Graduate Studies Committee of the Association for Business Communication will review and rank applications. Their recommendation will then be submitted to the Board of the C. R. Anderson Foundation for approval and authorization of funds disbursement.

Marty Baker Graham Award Recipients:

  • 2018: Erin Brock Carlson, Purdue University, "Mapping Metis: Tracing the Work of Regional Transformation in Appalachia"
  • 2017
    • Sara Doan, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
    • Ruby Nancy, East Carolina University
  • 2016: Dina Piepoli Udomsak, Wilkes University
  • 2015: Ashley Hall, Stephen F. Austin State University
  • 2014: Danica Schieber, Iowa State University
  • 2013: Tammy Rice-Bailey, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • 2012: Karin Goettsch, University of Minnesota
  • 2011: Xiaoli Li, Clemson University