Distinguished Book on Business Communication


The Distinguished Book on Business Communication award recognizes an outstanding book or edited volume that has made a significant contribution to the discipline and was authored/edited by a member of the Association. Textbooks are not candidates for this award.

The award recipient(s) receives a plaque, one-year full membership in the Association, and a monetary award of $500 USD cash contributed by Board-approved sponsor(s). By existing agreement, the Association for Business Communication permits the sponsor(s) to publicize the name(s) of the awardee(s) in advertising. This award is sponsored by the Association.

Eligibility Criteria

The Award for Distinguished Book on Business Communication is awarded to the author(s) or editor(s) of a book or edited volume that meets the following criteria:

  1. Contributes significantly to scholarship, research, and/or pedagogy.
  2. Demonstrates originality of thought and careful investigation.
  3. Is extremely well-written, lucid, and engaging.
  4. Has been copyrighted in the calendar year preceding the annual conference at which the award will be presented.

Authors are not eligible to receive this award two years in a row. A book may not be nominated more than once.

Nomination Procedures

Nominations may be made by members-at-large. A call for Nominations is sent to the members of ABC to make recommendations. The ABC Publications Board selects the recipient of the award.

Submit your nominations to the Publications Board Chair (contact information below). Please include complete publication information and a one-or-two paragraph rationale for the nomination in an email message. Please email an electronic copy of the book, or mail three hardcopies, to the Publications Board Chair. 

Nominations must be received by the ABC Publication Board chair by July 8.

Publications Board Chair: Jason Snyder
Professor of Marketing
Central Connecticut State University
1615 Stanley Street
New Britain, CT 06050


The award winner will be notified approximately 90 days before the annual conference.

Previous Winners

The award was renamed in 2019.