2017 Annual Conference Proceedings

82nd Annual International Conference
October 18-21, 2017
Dun Laoghaire, Dublin, Ireland

Editor: Leigh Ann Whittle

ISSN 2472-0658

Synthesizing Stakeholder Management: Cutting Through the Jungle of Concepts
Fabienne Bünzli, University of St. Gallen

Examining the Cultural, Age and Gender Differences in Attitudes Toward Employee Engagement Surveys
Michael Coates, Protostar Leadership Development Ltd.

A Comparison of Role Behaviors in Small-Group Strategic Decision-making Meetings: An Analysis of
Language Use and Proficiency
Bertha Du-Babcock, City University of Hong Kong

Extending Renewal to Organizational Preparedness: Development and Test of Readiness for Renewal Instrument
Winner:  Best Paper for Proceedings
Ryan Fuller, California State University, Sacramento
Ashley McNatt, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Robert Ulmer, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

The Essential Theories of Business Communication
Milton Mayfield and Jacqueline Mayfield, Texas A & M University

Who Has the Answers When No One Knows the Questions? Use of Inquiry Leadership to Co-Create a Workplace
Milton Mayfield and Jacqueline Mayfield, Texas A&M International University
Robyn Walker, University of Southern California

Top Schools, Different Tactics: A Comparison of Business Communication Assignments
Sarah E. Moore and Victoria McCrady, The University of Texas at Dallas

Free, Online, and Tailor-Made: Creating an Open Textbook As a Model Document
Andy Spackman, Brigham Young University

Leadership vs. Management: A Study of the Efficacy of Leadership and Management in Business
Tyler Swafford, Eastern Kentucky University & University College Dublin
Marcel Robles, Eastern Kentucky University

English as a Lingua Franca in Mainland China: An Analysis of Intercultural Business Communicative Competence (IBCC)
Winner:  Best Paper for Proceedings
Lorraine Yao, City University of Hong Kong

Proceedings Editorial Review Board:
Christopher Brown
Rod Carveth
Kevin Chu
Mark Cistulli
Barbara D’Angelo
Michelle Dawson
Sam DeKay
Frances Griffin
Kathy Langston
Sushil Owsal
Marcel Robles
Teresa Sekine
Lee Tesdell
Lillian Watson
Tara Wilson

©2017, Association for Business Communication