ABC MW/SE Business Communication Symposium #3 - December 8, 2021

Please mark your calendar for Wednesday, December 8, 2021, for the ABC Midwestern/Southeastern Business Communication Symposium #3: Asking the Right Questions: Laying a Strong Foundation for Qualitative Business Communication Research (11:30 a.m. to 1:45 p.m. ET/10:30 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. CT). 

We have invited Dr. Dorothy A. Winsor, Professor Emerita of English (Iowa State University) to be our featured speaker. 

 
Wednesday, December 8, 2021

11:30 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. ET/10:30 – 11:15 a.m. CT

Session Description: Dr. Dorothy A. Winsor, an accomplished ethnographic and qualitative researcher, will kick off the Symposium by sharing her insights on the importance of “Asking the Right Questions.” Her publications include Writing Like an Engineer: A Rhetorical Education and Writing Power: An Ethnographic Study of Writing in an Engineering Center. She is a former editor of the Journal of Business and Technical Communication. In 2004, Dr. Winsor was the winner of the ABC Distinguished Book on Business Communication, and in 2006, she received the ABC Francis Weeks Award for Impact on the Field.

12:15 – 12:30 p.m. ET/11:15 – 11:30 a.m. CT
Break

12:30 – 1:45 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. CT
Session Description: Building on Dr. Winsor’s presentation, a panel of business communication researchers will discuss how “Asking the Right Questions” has informed and strengthened their work.

 
The Symposium is free to ABC members, but you must sign up to attend as space is limited. Please email Dr. Kathryn Rybka at krybka@illinois.edu to register; a Zoom link will be sent to you a few days before the Symposium. 

We are very excited to once again connect and explore research in business communication topics with you! Look forward to seeing you there.

Warm regards, Kathryn and Patty

Kathryn M. Rybka, Ph.D.
Gies College of Business 
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Midwestern U.S. Regional Vice President, Association for Business Communication

Patty Harms, Ph.D.
Kenan-Flagler Business School
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Southeastern U.S. Regional Vice President, Association for Business Communication 

 

Recent Stories
ABC Annual International Conference - October 2022 SUBMISSIONS NOW OPEN

Save the Date - ABC Annual International Conference October 3-8

Business and Professional Communication Quarterly (BPCQ) Call for Editor