Spirit of ABC Award in Memory of Bernadine P. Branchaw


The award recognizes, on an extraordinary basis, exceptional members of ABC who exemplify friendliness and openness to both newcomers and current members. This member's spirit of friendliness shows a genuine appreciation to all individuals who attend ABC activities.

The award recipient will be recognized at the annual conference with a plaque. This award is sponsored by the Association.

Eligibility Criteria

All ABC members are eligible.


When special circumstances warrant granting the Award, the Nominating Committee proposes candidates to the Board of Directors, which approves the award.


The award winner will be notified approximately 90 days before the annual conference. This winner must submit a photograph to be used in the award presentation.

Winners of the Spirit of ABC Award in Memory of Bernadine P. Branchaw

Winner Institution Year
Virginia Hemby
Middle Tennessee State University 2023
Priscilla Rogers (posthumous) University of Michigan 2023
Jacqueline Mayfield Texas A&M International University 2022
Not Awarded 2021
Jacquelyn Lowman University of Maine at Presque Isle 2020
Marsha Bayless
Stephen F. Austin State University 2019
Maryann Wysor & Andy Wysor Georgia State University & U.S. Army 2018
Gail Cruise University of Massachusetts Amherst 2017
Kathryn Rybka University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 2016
Geert Jacobs Ghent University 2015
Donna Kienzler Iowa State University 2014
Jean Bush-Bacelis  Eastern Michigan University 2013
Marilyn Dyrud Oregon Institute of Technology 2012
Marcel Robles Eastern Kentucky University 2011
Mary Ellen Guffey  Los Angeles Pierce College 2010
Gina Poncini University of Milan 2008
Hiromitsu Hayashida Chuo University 2006
Carol Roever Missouri Western State University 2005
Barbara Shwom  Northwestern University 2004
Bernadine P. Branchaw Western Michigan University
Margaret McLaren University of Waikato