Awards - Bernadine P. Branchaw Spirit of ABC Award


The purpose of the Bernadine P. Branchaw Spirit of ABC Award is to acknowledge extraordinary contributions to the friendliness of ABC.


The award recognizes, on an extraordinary basis, exceptional members of ABC whose spirit of friendliness and welcome and whose activities in support of that spirit through the whole organization contribute substantially to an atmosphere of welcome and appreciation for both newcomers and continuing members.

Nomination Procedures

When special circumstances warrant granting the Award, the Nominating Committee proposes candidates to the Board of Directors, which approves the award.

Winners of the Bernadine P. Branchaw Spirit of ABC Award

  • Bernadine P. Branchaw, Western Michigan University
  • Jean Bush-Bacelis, 2013, Eastern Michigan University
  • Marilyn Dyrud, 2012, Oregon Institute of Technology
  • Mary Ellen Guffey, 2010, Los Angeles Pierce College
  • Hiromitsu Hayashida, 2006, Chuo University
  • Geert Jacobs, 2015, Ghent University
  • Donna Kienzler, 2014, Iowa State University
  • Margaret McLaren
  • Gina Poncini, 2008, University of Milan
  • Marcel Robles, 2011, Eastern Kentucky University
  • D. Deborah Roebuck, Kennesaw State University
  • Carol Roever, Missouri Western University
  • Kathryn Rybka, 2016, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Barbara Shwom, 2004, Northwestern University