2013 Student Writing Contest Award Winners

The Student Awards Committee is pleased to announce the winners of the 10th annual ABC Writing Contest:

  • 1st place: Nina del Valle, Temple University
    FACEbook War Case Study winning entry
  • 2nd Place: Alyssa Gutierrez, University of Florida
  • 3rd Place: Lacy Culpepper, Dixie State University

As a 1st place winner, Nina del Valle will receive $300; as 2nd place winner, Alyssa Gutierrez will receive $200; and as 3rd place winner, Lacy Culpepper will receive $100.

The contest was open to undergraduate business students who worked independently to write a response to this year’s case and whose entries were submitted by their instructors.

The selection process was a rigorous one. All student entries were coded so members of the ABC Student Competition Committee, who served as the initial readers, would not know the identity of the student authors, instructors, or schools. The top five entries were then given to business professionals who read and ranked the entries and chose the contest winners. All readers used a holistic scale similar to that used for the GMAT to rank entries.

ABC Student Awards Committee for 2013

  • Traci Austin


Professional Judges for the Writing Contest for 2013


The ABC Student Awards Committee thanks everyone who promoted the contest, who encouraged students to submit their work, who read and evaluated entries, or who helped in other ways to make this year’s contest a success! Thank you!