2010 Student Writing Contest Winners

The Student Awards Committee is pleased to announce the winners of the ninth annual ABC Writing Contest:

  • 1st place: Tony Bloemer, Northern Kentucky University. Sponsor: Janel Bloch
    2010 winning entry (Word document)
  • 2nd place: Iris Zhang, University of Florida. Sponsor: Fiona Barnes
  • 3rd place: Susan Hanover, Indiana University. Sponsor: Adam Herman

As a 1st place winner, Tony will receive $300; as 2nd place winner, Iris will receive $200; and as 3rd place winner, Susan will receive $100.

The contest was open to undergraduate business students who worked independently to write a response to this year’s case and whose entries were submitted by their instructors. Entrants responded to the case with two documents: (1) a one-page memo detailing a strategy for developing a working relationship with the community; and (2) a memo to the writer’s instructor describing the rationale for the response (used for information only; not evaluated).

The ABC Student Awards Committee thanks our professional readers who assisted with the 2010 ABC Student Writing Contest:

J. Michael Mooney, Chairman of the Board
MLG Commercial Real Estate

Randall Wells, Database Administrator
United Health Care

Sunni Williams, Communications Manager
Mattress Firm

The ABC Student Awards Committee also thanks everyone who promoted the contest, who encouraged students to submit their work, who read and evaluated entries, or who helped in other ways to make this year’s contest a success! Thank you!

2010 Case