2004 Student Writing Contest Winner

The Student Awards Committee is pleased to announce the winner of the third annual ABC Writing Contest: Adam Tindel.

Adam’s entry was submitted by Dr. Heidi Schultz, Adam’s business communication instructor at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. In a blind review, Adam’s entry was judged the best of fivefinalists among 24 entries; and he will be awarded a certificate and a check for $300. Congratulations, Adam!

Adam’s $300 award is possible through the generosity of authors Mary Munter and Paul Argenti and two anonymous donors. An additional $300 stipend from the anonymous donors will be offered to the winner to attend the 2004 ABC Convention in Cambridge. We are grateful for these donors’ contributions and we thank them for their generosity and support for this contest.

The contest was open to undergraduate business students who worked independently to write a response to this year’s case and whose entries were submitted by their instructors. All contest entries were read and ranked by Student Awards Committee members who worked independently to identify the top five student entries. Then, the top five entries were read and ranked by businesspersons who worked independently to identify the winning response. All readers used a holistic scale similar to that used for the GMAT to rank the entries and all entries were coded so readers did not know the identity of the authors or instructors.

The contest case for 2003 was adapted from a case written by Gayle Vogt, PhD, at California State University at Fullerton. Each entrant responded to the case with two documents: (1) a letter to shareholders addressing the status of current legal issues and (2) a memo to the writer’s instructor describing the rationale for the letter.

The ABC Student Awards Committee is currently reviewing cases for the 2005 Student Writing Contest. If you have an original case that you would like to submit for our consideration, please e-mail it to Carol White at drcswhite@aol.com.

ABC Student Awards Committee

  • Cathy Dees, DeVry University
  • Dan Dieterich, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point -
  • Cindy Drexel, Western State College of Colorado
  • Bob Stowers, College of William and Mary -
  • Kris Walker, Tennessee Technological University
  • Yunxia Zhu, UNITEC Institute of Technology

Businessperson Judges for the Writing Contest

  • Sue Jolly, Fleishman-Hillard, Inc.
  • Henny Marske, Unigroup Worldwide
  • Karl Keller, Communication Partners
  • Judy Cartwright, Natural Choice
  • Nancy Erickson, Erickson & Associates

The ABC Student Awards Committee thanks everyone who helped promote the contest, entered students, read entries, or helped in other ways to make this year’s contest a success! Thank you!

2004 Case